Posted by: Claire Hannington | June 20, 2014

Meet Rhydian and Kirsteen – our 2 new FTV’s

Hey everyone!

Don’t want to bore you so I’ll keep this brief! I’m a twenty year old welsh speaker raised on Gower, recently returned home from Aberystwyth after completing my degree in Environmental Science.

I cannot get enough of the outdoors so this full time volunteer role is prefect for me and should aid me greatly in perusing a career that’ll keep me outdoors and active. My keen interest in volunteering with National Trust first arose during a work experience placement with Claire around six years ago. Since then myself and my family have been involved volunteering with the Saturday group. Having been brought up on Gower I know it like the back of my hand and I love it!

As well as being a full time volunteer with National Trust, I’m also a Surfing Instructor working regularly down Llangennith and can often be found out in the surf, so if you see me floating about come say hi! Looking forward to meeting all you guys soon!

Thanks!

Rhydian Cox

 

Rhydian in the middle with his dad Simon, and Katrina of the Saturday group

Rhydian in the middle with his dad Simon, and Katrina of the Saturday group

Hello

My love of the outdoors and interest in nature conservation stems from my childhood growing up in the Lake District, where my weekends and school holidays were spent going for longs walks in the fells and exploring the Lake District National Park. I am an active individual and love being outdoors and my other interests include running, mountain biking, surfing, snowboarding and horse riding.

During my final year of university I volunteered on the Gower for 3 months splitting my time between working for the Gower AONB Ranger and the National Trust and after graduating from university with a degree in Applied Conservation Biology I realised a career as a ranger is a job I would love to pursue, so I’m back! I am hoping to gain lots of practical experience with the National Trust that will help me further my career.

So far I absolutely love volunteering for Gower National Trust as there is never a dull day. Every day I learn something different and meet someone new and have been kept very busy. I love staying in Rhossili and am spending my spare time surfing or going for long walks with my dog which is a great way for me to explore the Gower coastline.

I would like to say a big thank you to everyone I’ve met so far for making me feel so welcome, it has been lovely meeting you all and I look forward to working with you this year. To those I haven’t met yet, I look forward to meeting you in the future.

Kirsteen

Kirsteen and Joey

Kirsteen and Joey

 

Responses

  1. Welcome. It was good to meet you both yesterday

    Love Barbara

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. […] We welcomed Kirsteen into the team, as our new Full Time Volunteer Ranger, and a week later Rhydian joined us too. You can find out about them here. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

