Posted by: Claire Hannington | March 18, 2016

Welcome to Ollie – our new FTV

Hi everyone!

My name is Ollie, I’m 22 years old and I’m the new full time volunteer!

Ollie

Firstly, I wanted to say a big thank you to the staff of the National Trust Gower and the volunteers who I have already met for making me feel very welcome in my first few days here. Those of you I have yet to meet I look forward to spending time together whether on marsh, beach or cliff!

I have spent the majority of my life in Cardiff utilizing the green spaces the city is lucky to have, for sport, dog walking or for generally escaping and enjoying the wildlife. I know the Gower, my Grandparents having a static caravan in Port Eynon until fairly recently so many a happy day was spent there.

I recently attended Swansea University where I did a Biosciences degree in Zoology.

It so seems apt that my journey west continues to the Gower where I look forward to discovering more of its beauty, history and about the wildlife here.

I love to lead a fit and active lifestyle so this role is brilliant for me and will hopefully give me the skills and help I need to have a career in this area in the future. I feel very fortunate and privileged being offered this opportunity of being a full time volunteer and shall make the most of it and get stuck in over the upcoming months whatever the Welsh weather throws at us! I’m looking forward to working with everyone!

Ollie James.

Responses

  1. Good to have you on Gower Ollie. They are a great bunch in SPG but you have to train them right. Be particularly careful of that Corrinne in case she tries to bury you in the Salt Marsh mud….

  2. Pleased to meet you Ollie. Hope to meet you on Gower soon


Leave a Reply

Categories

